Waikato team win Drivers Series

J Scott Latest News



The Canterbury team of Mark Jones and Dexter Dunn had little luck In the American Ideal Provincial Drivers Championship at Invercargill on Sunday, November 20, having to settle for fifth.

The Waikato pairing of David Butcher and Todd Mitchell were decisive winners, accumulating 31 points.

Butcher and Mitchell won three of the five invited drivers races _ the former scoring with Simply Genius and Arancia _ and Mitchell with capable trot mare Larix.

Butcher’s 21 points also made him the individual champion, finishing well clear of runnerup, Southland’s Jonny Cox with 17.

The Auckland team of Zac Butcher and Brent Mangos were runnerups in the teams competition on 23 points, followed by Mid Canterbury 21, Southland 20, Canterbury 18, Otago, 12, and Central Districts 5.

David Butcher, and brother Philip, won the Brothers series on heritage day at Oamaru last Saturday, November 19.

The Butcher brothers were recording their third consecutive win in the novelty Oamaru drivers competition.

The Butchers’ failed to rein a winner in the five-race series, but amassed 87 points through placings.

They scored by a point over Dexter and John Dunn, who combined to win three of the five races but still came up a point short.

Matthew and Nathan Williamson were third with 85 points.